Staff Member Feature: Alanah Palmer

Greetings all!

As promised, now that you've met all the animals of the farm, it's time to meet the people! I figured since I've been blabbering away to you for a couple months now, that I should start with myself.

First of all, all the usual stuff. My name is Alanah Palmer, and I am 24 years old. I am a recent graduate of Redeemer University College, with a Bachelor's Degree in Biology. Yes, I said Biology (weird, I know). I also studied Psychology and was in 2 main stage productions while I was there. Here's my face for reference:

Before Redeemer, I lived in Texas for two years, and before that, in Africa for two years. Before thaaaaat, I grew up in an itty bitty town called Stayner, first right outside on a farm, then in town for a couple years. I had the best childhood EVER - I went through a "boring" phase (as my siblings would say) where all I liked to do was read (terrible, I know), but I also liked being outside, and riding my horse Charlie that I had for a few years. I've always loved cute things, so growing up on a sheep farm, lambing season was my favourite.

I realize I'm jumping all over the place here, but I want to share some of the highlights of my life while keep it short and interesting!

As you can see in the photo above (taken while in Africa) I have two siblings, and a couple parents. They're great people, and I wouldn't trade them for the world!

I had never really been interested in sports as a kid - while my brother and sister were off playing hockey, I was singing in a semi-professional children's choir, taking piano lessons, and practicing the clarinet. Ok, let's be honest, I didn't do that last one much.

In grade 8 I played a little bit of volleyball...and experimented with some terrible, center part bangs apparently. I'm glad I've sorta figured out my insane hair by now. I just wanted to throw that in there, cause it's always fun to go way back into the archives.

As you can tell by a lot of these photos and stories, another trait I possess strongly is the ability to laugh at myself and not take life too seriously all the time.

Well, all that is fine and great you say, but what about now? What do you do with your life besides being 24, a University graduate with nice hair and having a quirky personality? Well let me just tell you.

I am also engaged to this amazing man, who handles my crazy very well. Did I mention he's amazing? We're getting married June of next year, and I can't wait. In the meantime, we enjoy spending tons of time together and with our families - something that is very important and close to both our hearts.

So what do I do here at Canteen Destiny? That's an excellent question, please let me know if you figure out the answer. Just kidding! I do things. I know what I do...pretty much everything and anything! My official title is Program Manager so I plan and implement various things at Canteen Destiny such as summer camp, youth drop-in, horseback riding lessons, workshops, events, and our new Land Based Learning program. I also help out with marketing/advertising, and day to day operations on the farm. I love being outdoors as well as hiking, fishing, and still love horseback riding, so if you can't find me in the office, I'm probably off exploring or in the barn.

That's pretty much me in a nutshell! I'm fun loving, organized, responsible, and am planning to go back to school next September, probably for a massage therapy program near the Hamilton area.

If there's anything else you want to know, leave me a comment below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Clean

CONNECT​ WITH US:​​

1050 Highway 5

Dundas, ON

L9H 5E2

 

OPENING HOURS

Canteen Destiny staff members are in the office and available most weekdays.

ADDRESS

905- 628-8195

PHONE LINE

Hours

10am- 6pm

Monday- Saturday

Subscribe for Updates

H

© 2019  All rights reserved. Canteen Destiny